≡ Menu

Enable Diagnostic Logging in Exchange 2007

In Exchange 2003, you need to go to “Diagnostic logging tab” in Exchange server properties to enable required logging. This has been simplified in Exchange 2007 and now you can do it through Exchange Shell.

List Logging Levels (Get-EventLogLevel)

To get the current logging levels of a Exchange 2007 server, run the below command. You put your server name after “-server”. If you don’t specify any it will display the logging levels of local server. The logging level list varies depending on the role of the Exchange 2007 server (MBX, CAS, HTS).

Get-EventLogLevel -Server MYSERVER

Set Logging Level (Set-EventLogLevel)

You can increase the logging level of any listed identify to one of the below values. Below levels are self explanatory and I am hoping no need of further descriptions of them.

  • Lowest
  • Low
  • Medium
  • High

For example, if I want to change “MSExchange ADAceessValidation” Logging level to low. I will use the below command.

Set-EventLogLevel "MSExchange ADAceessValidation" -Level High

You can do it remaining for identities as well in similar way. Good Luck and Happy Learning..

Sitaram Pamarthi

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • 星罗 沙绪 August 18, 2013, 4:20 am

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off t